Clean Books for Teens and Tweens

Hi! I’m Sara, and this is my ongoing list of clean books for teens and tweens. I’ve had the opportunity to read lots of clean books lately, and several others have been recommended to me by trusted sources. I’m happy to share those with you!

If you find it difficult to identify newer books without all the language, sex, or mature situations, you’re not alone. Many people are looking for these books, and they ARE out there. You just have to dig a little deeper to find them. The big publishing companies aren’t backing clean books as often right now, so I started searching in smaller publishing houses or from indie authors. I’ve found some great reads this way.

Because of this, some of these may not be at your local library, but that doesn’t mean you can’t get them there. In fact, if you want your library to offer more clean books for teens, you should request more clean books, so they’ll know what their community wants. You can request books at your library on their website, in person, or over the phone.

I’ve been asked many times, and yes, this list reflects my Christian values. I will not suggest anything that contradicts my faith. If you have specific questions about any of these books, feel free to contact me.

Here are my suggestions for clean books for teenagers. Click the title to read a synopsis on Goodreads.

a sould as cold as frost, clean teen book series

A Soul as Cold as Frost
by Jennifer Kropf

Fantasy

If you are looking for something a bit wintery for your holiday reading, I think you’ll LOVE A Soul as Cold as Frost. I highly recommend it for your avid readers. It’s part of a series, and the 4th comes out on December 14th!

Don’t worry. I checked with the author, and there is no sex or language in any of the books in this series. 

From Amazon: Ideal for fans of The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, Harry Potter, and The Nutcracker and the Four Realms.

within these lines, clean ya historical romance

Within these Lines
by Stephanie Morrill

Historical Fiction

No language, no sex

clean scifi

Skyward
by Brandon Sanderson

Science Fiction

No language, no sex, mild fantasy violence
I have only read the first book.

The Summer we Forgot
by Caroline George

YA Mystery Thriller

No sex, mild murder mystery violence
The characters do attend parties where drinking takes place

unbetrothed, clean fantasy for teens

Unbetrothed
by Candice Pedraza Yamnitz

Fantasy

I have not finished this one, but it was recommended to me as a clean read.

steel heart, clean book for boys

Steelheart
by Brandon Sanderson

Science Fiction

I have not finished this one, but it was recommended to me as a clean read.

vivid, clean fantasy

Vivid
by Ashley Bustamante

Fantasy

No language, no sex, mild fantasy violence

clean contemporary romance

P.S. I Like You
by Kasie West

Contemporary Romance

No language, no sex
I also liked this author’s book called The Fill-in Boyfriend.

clean books for tweens

The Wonderland Trials
by Sara Ella

Fantasy

I have not finished this one, but it was recommended to me as a clean read.

the selection, clean ya fantasy

The Selection
by Kiera Cass

Fantasy Romance

No language, no sex

Be warned, there is a fair amount of kissing in this one. 😉

stealing embers | clean urban fantasy

Stealing Embers
by Julie Hall

Urban Fantasy

A few instances of mild language, no sex, mild fantasy violence.
It had an older teen vibe.

clean books for teens

Romanov
by Nadine Brandes

Historical Fantasy

No language, no sex, some violence

clean ya science fiction

Recorder
by Cathy Mccrumb

Science Fiction

No language, no sex, mild fantasy violence

This Dreamer
by Sara Watterson

Fantasy

No language, no sex, mild fantasy violence

Suggestions? Let me know in the comments.

1 thought on “Clean Books for Teens and Tweens

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *